UA Hispanic Alumni Club (UAHA)

The University of Arizona Hispanic Alumni (UAHA) is made up of accomplished Hispanic graduates and former students of the UA who live throughout the world. UAHA was founded in 1982 to promote academic excellence among Hispanic students at the University, provide financial and mentoring support to qualified and deserving students, and develop links between alumni and supporters in the professional and business community. Since 1986, UAHA has awarded nearly 2,500 scholarships worth more than $5.3 million.

UAHA membership connects you to the UA, fellow alumni and incredible UA Alumni Association benefits. The Alumni Association provides career resources, networking opportunities and member communications that keep you up-to-date about the UA. 

Become a member 


Board Elections

Are you interested in serving UAHA and its mission by being an officer of the club? Want to help UAHA provide more over $450,000 in aid each year to UA students? If so, we’d love to have you! If you are interested or have questions, please contact Denise Shorbe at


Upcoming Events


Check out our Facebook page for upcoming events.




UAHA offers renewable scholarships that can range up to a total of $16,000 to be applied toward tuition and associated fees for Arizona resident students who will enroll as full-time students at the University of Arizona. 

For more information, please contact UAAA Scholarships at or at 520-621-1635




UAHA relies on donations and community support to fund events and its scholarship fund. UAHA greatly appreciates donations of any size (which are tax deductible).

Give to UAHA 


Portraits of Excellence


Portraits of Excellence is UAHA's yearly fundraiser at which a prominent member of the community is honored for his/her contributions to students, the Hispanic community and education.

Past honorees:

  • 2018: Helios Education Foundation
  • 2017: John M. Bernal and Lea Marquez Peterson
  • 2016: Henry Koffler, Kent Rollins, Anna Marie Chalk
  • 2014: Lupita Murillo
  • 2013: City of Tucson Manager Richard Miranda
  • 2012: Andy Lopez
  • 2011: Ray and Carlotta Flores
  • 2010: Bob Baffert
  • 2009: Marty Cortez
  • 2008: Richard J. Gonzales


Board of Directors


The all-volunteer board of directors is the group entrusted to guide UAHA. 

Executive Committee:

President — Alexei Marquez
Vice president — Priscilia Ruedas
Treasurer — Letty Molina-Gutierrez
Recording secretary — Anamaria Ramirez Navoa
Communications — Andra Soria

Committee Chairs:

Scholarship chair — Jim Garcia
Co-Scholarship chair- Ramon Gutierrez
Co-Scholarship chair - Anamaria Ramirez Navoa
Wellness Coordinator - Celina Urquidez