UA Black Alumni (UABA)

The University of Arizona Black Alumni (UABA) is made up of accomplished graduates and former students of the UA who live throughout the world. UABA was founded in 1982 to promote academic excellence among African American students at the University.

Club president: Tanisha Price-Johnson
Phone: 520-626-8626


Help support the UA Black Alumni Club Fund.

Give now 




We support our students! Annually, the UABA has awarded nearly 2,000 scholarships worth over $2 million dollars. Not only do we provide financial support of our students, we provide opportunities for scholars to engage with professional mentors, use campus resources such as Career Services, and have a platform to share their experiences. We invite you to participate with our Scholars’ Passport Program (attach calendar) to make the difference in the lives of our student scholars and future alumni.

Awarding scholarships with the charitable support of donors, friends, and the Arizona community is one of the most important things we do! Scholarships provide access to college for students who otherwise could not afford it, bring the best and brightest minds to the UA, and energize the economy through employment, internships, and research.

Criteria for scholarship recipients

UA Alumni Association scholarships are awarded in two categories: Merit-based — to attract and retain students of exceptional academic quality, and need-based — for students who demonstrate great financial need. (Need-based scholarship applicants must complete a free application for federal student aid.)

The application below serves the University of Arizona Alumni Association. Scholarships are open to all without regard to race, ethnicity, national origin or other protected categories, in compliance with the University’s Non-Discrimination Policy ( The scholarship selection committee adheres to these University policies.

Apply now 


About the Board

Currently, our Board consists of campus and community partners. We are:

  • President – Tanisha N. Price-Johnson, University of Arizona
  • President-elect – Keyshia Conner, University of Arizona
  • Treasurer – Arietha Demaree, University of Arizona Foundation
  • Member-at-large – Dana Ammons, owner of All About People
  • Member-at-large – Tina Johnson
  • Member-at-large Terryl Robinson, City of Tucson