2018 Alumni of the Year Award Recipients

The Alumni Association salutes University of Arizona alumni for their achievements, public service, advocacy for education, volunteerism and service to students, the colleges and the university.

Click on each award winner's name to watch a video about their career and accomplishments.

2018 Alumni of the Year Award Winners

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences: Cheryl M. Keithly '64 

Co-owner of an international seed distribution business and consummate philanthropist who provides time, leadership and financial resources to CALS, the UA and her community.


College of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture: Irene Fujiko Ogata '77 '86 '09 

Passionate landscape professional whose expertise has shaped Tucson's physical environment and regulatory policy concerning healthy communities, outdoors, 
green infrastructure and water conservation. 

College of Education: Rufus Glasper '95 

As president and CEO of League for Innovation and Chancellor Emeritus of the Maricopa Colleges, his work as an educator makes a difference for students and communities 
by improving student and organizational learning. 

Eller College of Management: Robert Eckert '76 

A consumer products industry veteran with great success in the food and toy industries. Devoted alumnus who is dedicated to improving the Eller experience. 

College of Engineering: Dylan E. Taylor '93 

A leader and visionary in global business as well as a thought leader and vanguard for space exploration and technology. 


College of Fine Arts: Guy Moon 

A performing artist, producer and composer in the television and film industry. Endowed the Jeff Haskell recording studio at the UA Fred Fox School of Music. 

The Honors College: Alexandria Lau '06 '12 

An accomplished toxicologist, holding key positions at leading consumer goods and food companies. Gives back to the science community through mentorship to students and young professionals. 

College of Humanities: M. Andre Goodfriend '79 

A senior-level career diplomat who has held challenging positions worldwide for the U.S. Department of State, ranging from safeguarding the welfare of U.S. citizens, preventing conflict and implementing new technologies to heading a U.S. Embassy. 

James E. Rogers College of Law: Mary Mangotich Grier '77 

Champion of the James E. Rogers College of Law with lifelong impact and leadership in society to promote public interest. 

College of Medicine - Phoenix: Sarah Coles '07 '11 

Passionate physician and educator who is committed to medical education, patient advocacy and community medicine. 

College of Medicine - Tucson: Kevin F. Moynahan '89 '93 

Dedicated alumnus, renowned internist and innovative educator with multiple leadership roles in the College of Medicine, including deputy dean of education. 

College of Nursing: Marla J. Weston '06 

Transformational healthcare leader and nursing advocate with outstanding leadership accomplishments at national, state and local levels. 

College of Optical Sciences: James W. Mayo III '68 

Dedicated scientist who helps advance global optics technology and is committed to providing opportunities for future optics scientists with the James Mayo Family Graduate Student Scholarship. 

College of Pharmacy: Richard Katz '70 

A serial entrepreneur who co-created and developed five successful multi-service and specialty pharmaceutical businesses. 

Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health: Traci Lyn Kodeck '99 

A public health professional with a long-standing passion for working with vulnerable and underserved populations to eliminate health disparities. 

College of Science: Dale G. Shellhorn '60 

Accomplished physicist with a remarkable career influencing space and aviation. A pioneer in mapping the moon. 

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences: David Yetman '64 '66 '72

Academic expert on Sonora, Mexico, and the Sonoran Desert. An Emmy award­-winning media presenter on the world's deserts, geography and cultures of the Americas, and a research social scientist in UA's Southwest Center.